Preston win at the VBL State Band Championships

Preston has regained the Victorian State Championship trophy after their win in the A Grade competition.

The state championships were held at Founders Hall in Ballarat on the 18th of August. Fresh off their trip to New Zealand, Preston put in a solid performance of all pieces to claim the win over Kew Band Melbourne. The contest was very tight, with the adjudicator expressing that both bands had produced performances deserving of the win. Preston were able to edge out a one point victory in all categories, leading to a 4-point win overall.

In claiming the trophy, Preston MD Andrew Snell praised the efforts of all players involved; highlighting the hard work that went into bringing the program together in a short period of time.

Full results of the event are available at the Victorian Bands’ League website.

Darebin Players Shine at the VBL State Solo and Ensemble Championships

Darebin players put on a show at the VBL State Solo and Ensemble Championships. Held on the 28th of July, the championships brought together some of the best solo players from across the state. Darebin was well-represented across a range of sections, with players from Preston, Northern and Jack’s Juniors taking part. As an organisation, we are very proud of all of our participating members.

It was exciting to see such a high standard of playing from our members, with many placing or winning their sections. Congratulations to the following players who were crowned champions in their sections:

Ryan Koroknai (Preston) – Open Trumpet

Chris Lee (Preston) – Open Champion of Champions, Open Slow/Sacred Melody, Open Tenor Trombone

Will Leslie (Northern) – Junior and Open Baritone

George Melitsis (Preston) – Open Air and Variations and Open Bb Cornet

Llewellyn Morris (Preston) – Open Tenor Horn

Andrew Rollason (Northern) – Open Soprano Cornet

Special congratulations go to up-and-coming star Will Leslie, for winning the Open Baritone section as a junior player. Massive congratulations also go to Darebin president Chris Lee, who capped a spectacular day for the organisation by winning the Open Champion of Champions award.

Well done to all of our competing players! We are looking forward to an even better year next year.